22 Church St. was one of three tenement houses built by the Fenwick family of Charleston, SC. Damaged by fire before 1785, the lots lay vacant until 1796 when Daniel Brown, a mariner, purchased the long, narrow, central property and built a home in the style of the traditional Charleston single-house. Over time, the structure has been converted into the Adamesque house we see today. The traditional Charleston porch has been walled in, the entrance room greatly expanded, and the front doorway shifted from the south side of the building to the west, now opening directly onto the street. A rooftop skylight, large windows, and several beautiful early fanlights, allow vast amounts of natural light to enter the home, highlighting the historic nature of the structure. Unique to the neighborhood, 22 Church St. contains several pieces of early, intricate, hand-forged ironwork. The Historic American Building Survey photographed and documented both the Juliet Balcony and the Coal Chute Gate due to their historic and aesthetic value. Exposed brick, original plaster, heart of pine floors, pegged-through mortise and tenon joinery, and many valuable historic elements such as hand-carved wooden mantles, hand-blown glass panes, and in-situ plaster mouldings make 22 Church St. a visually and culturally valuable property that greatly contributes to the historic character of the nationally recognized South of Broad Historic District.
Loading map for this address.
| Provided Courtesy Of Charleston Trident Multiple Listing Service |
The information on this site is provided for consumers' personal, non-commercial use and may not be used for any purpose other than to identify prospective properties consumers may be interested in purchasing. Any use of search facilities of data on this site other than by a consumer looking to purchase real estate is strictly prohibited. Information Is Believed To Be Accurate But Not Guaranteed.
Copyright 09/15/2014 05:59AM CTARMLS. All Rights Reserved.
Data last updated: 09/15/2014 05:59AM